
Airalo in South Africa: CellSA and CellSA Plus
Airalo sells two named product lines in South Africa, CellSA and CellSA Plus, and the Plus version costs between $0.50 and $6 more for identical data and validity. Airalo does not state what the extra buys.
South Africa eSIM plans compared
Airalo50 GB · 30d$49$0.98/GB✓ checkedBest value30 plansPlan Data Days Price Per GB CellSA 1 GB 3 $4 $4 CellSA Plus 1 GB 3 $4.50 $4.50 CellSA 3 GB 3 $8 $2.67 CellSA Plus 3 GB 3 $9 $3 CellSA 3 GB 7 $9 $3 CellSA Plus 3 GB 7 $10 $3.33 CellSA 5 GB 7 $11.50 $2.30 CellSA 5 GB 15 $12 $2.40 CellSA Plus 5 GB 7 $12.50 $2.50 CellSA 5 GB 30 $12.50 $2.50 CellSA Plus 5 GB 15 $13 $2.60 CellSA Plus 5 GB 30 $13.50 $2.70 CellSA 10 GB 7 $19 $1.90 CellSA 10 GB 15 $20 $2 CellSA Plus 10 GB 7 $20.50 $2.05 CellSA Unlimited 3 $20.50 — CellSA Plus 10 GB 15 $22 $2.20 CellSA 10 GB 30 $22 $2.20 CellSA Plus 10 GB 30 $24 $2.40 CellSA Unlimited 5 $31.50 — CellSA 20 GB 15 $35 $1.75 CellSA 20 GB 30 $37 $1.85 CellSA Plus 20 GB 15 $38 $1.90 CellSA Unlimited 7 $39.50 — CellSA Plus 20 GB 30 $40 $2 CellSA Unlimited 10 $46 — CellSA 50 GB 30 $49 $0.98 CellSA Plus 50 GB 30 $55 $1.10 CellSA Unlimited 15 $68 — CellSA Unlimited 30 $99 —
Nomad20 GB · 30d$29$1.45/GB✓ checked7 plansData Days Price Per GB 1 GB 7 $4 $4 3 GB 30 $8 $2.67 5 GB 30 $11 $2.20 10 GB 30 $18 $1.80 Unlimited 5 $19 — 20 GB 30 $29 $1.45 Unlimited 10 $37 — Saily20 GB · 30d$36.99$1.85/GB✓ checked5 plans
Data Days Price Per GB 1 GB 7 $3.99 $3.99 3 GB 30 $9.99 $3.33 5 GB 30 $12.99 $2.60 10 GB 30 $22.99 $2.30 20 GB 30 $36.99 $1.85 HolaflyUnlimited · 3d$19.90unlimited✓ checked6 plans
Data Days Price Per GB Unlimited 3 $19.90 — Unlimited 5 $30.90 — Unlimited 7 $39.50 — Unlimited 10 $46.90 — Unlimited 15 $63.50 — Unlimited 30 $111.90 —
Providers marked ✓ checked were read from their own site on ; those marked indicative come from our earlier research and are not yet verified. Providers change pricing without notice — check before buying. Host networks marked ? are taken from provider listings and have not been confirmed by us; where no network is shown, the provider does not publish one. How we check prices.
Two named tiers, not a doubled catalogue
The first thing to understand about Airalo in South Africa is that it sells two products, not one. The cheaper line is CellSA; the dearer is CellSA Plus. Every capped plan size is listed under both, and when we read Airalo's own site on 13 August 2026 the pairs came back like this.
| Plan | CellSA | CellSA Plus |
|---|---|---|
| 1GB / 3 days | $4 | $4.50 |
| 3GB / 3 days | $8 | $9 |
| 3GB / 7 days | $9 | $10 |
| 5GB / 7 days | $11.50 | $12.50 |
| 5GB / 30 days | $12.50 | $13.50 |
| 10GB / 30 days | $22 | $24 |
| 20GB / 30 days | $37 | $40 |
| 50GB / 30 days | $49 | $55 |
Every figure there is verified against Airalo's site. What the Plus tier buys is not stated by Airalo. We hold the two names and the two prices; no speed tier, no network, no roaming footprint, nothing that would explain the premium. We are not going to guess at one.
The gap is small at the bottom and meaningful at the top. Fifty cents on 1GB does not matter. Six dollars on the 50GB month is a 12% premium against a specification that reads identically. On the evidence we hold, CellSA is the tier to buy, and CellSA Plus needs a justification from Airalo's own product page before it earns the difference.
The rest of the range
Beyond the capped range, Airalo sells unlimited data in South Africa under CellSA only, with no Plus equivalent, at a single price per duration: $20.50 for three days, $31.50 for five, $39.50 for a week, $46 for ten days, $68 for fifteen and $99 for thirty. No plan includes calls or SMS.
On a per-gigabyte basis the capped range is where the value is. On CellSA, the 50GB month works out at 98 cents a gigabyte, 20GB at $1.85, 10GB at $2.20 and 5GB at $2.50. On CellSA Plus the same four rungs are $1.10, $2.00, $2.40 and $2.70. The 1GB starter at $4 is four dollars a gigabyte — fine as a landing-day stopgap, poor value for anything longer.
One structural quirk: validity barely costs anything. On CellSA, five gigabytes is $11.50 for a week and $12.50 for a month; ten gigabytes is $19 for a week and $22 for a month. Buying the short version to save a dollar is almost never worth it on a trip where a flight might move.
What we cannot tell you about the network
Airalo does not publish which South African carrier its eSIM roams onto, for either CellSA or CellSA Plus. It does not publish that anywhere, for any country, and our data holds nothing for it here. The names are Airalo's own product branding, not carriers. An earlier version of this page named MTN and Vodacom; that was not sourced from Airalo and we have taken it out rather than repeat it.
In South Africa that absence has teeth. Coverage between Vodacom, MTN, Telkom and Cell C diverges sharply outside the metros, and the places travellers most want signal are exactly the places where the choice of network matters: game reserve interiors, where some Kruger camps have very limited signal, the Kalahari, the Northern Cape interior and several Drakensberg hiking routes. If your itinerary depends on connectivity in any of those, a local SIM from a named carrier is the only way to control which network you are on.
Against the alternatives
Saily's prices, read off its own site on 18 August 2026, sit close to CellSA and cross it depending on size. Saily lists 1GB for $3.99, 3GB over thirty days for $9.99, 5GB for $12.99, 10GB for $22.99 and 20GB for $36.99. The 5GB and 20GB figures moved when we read them at source; this page had them at $14.99 and $35.99. CellSA undercuts it on 5GB and 10GB; Saily is a dollar under on 20GB — and Saily is under CellSA Plus at 5GB, 10GB and 20GB alike and offers a 3GB month that Airalo's South Africa range does not — Airalo's 3GB plans stop at seven days. None of Saily's figures is verified, which is the counterweight.
At the top end, Holafly's indicative unlimited month is $74.90 against Airalo's verified $99, so if unlimited is genuinely what you want, Airalo is not the place to buy it. Below 50GB, though, Airalo's capped plans beat both of them on price we have actually confirmed.
Verdict
Airalo is the right default in South Africa for anyone buying a capped plan, provided you buy CellSA rather than CellSA Plus. The CellSA 50GB month at $49 is the strongest per-gigabyte figure in our South African data, and Airalo's prices are the ones we have verified. CellSA Plus is the same allowance for more money with nothing published to show for it; if Airalo's checkout explains the difference on the day you buy, weigh it then, but do not pay the premium on our say-so, because we have nothing to say about it.
Buy elsewhere if you want unlimited, where its $99 month is well off the pace, or if you need a South African number. Note that no ID is needed to buy the eSIM, whereas a local prepaid SIM — around $18 at the airport — requires your passport to register. The South Africa hub has the full comparison.
Common questions
What is the difference between Airalo's CellSA and CellSA Plus?
Airalo sells both in South Africa and lists every capped allowance under each name, so both appear at checkout with identical data and validity at different prices. CellSA is the cheaper of the two; the premium ranges from 50 cents on the 1GB plan to $6 on the 50GB month. What the Plus tier buys is not stated by Airalo, so on the evidence we hold there is no reason to pay it.
Which South African network does Airalo use?
Airalo does not publish it, for CellSA or CellSA Plus, here or in any other country. Anyone naming Vodacom or MTN as its host is guessing. That is a genuine drawback in South Africa, where coverage differs a lot between operators once you leave the cities. If being on a specific network matters — for a Kruger self-drive, say — buy a local SIM from that operator instead.
Do I need my passport to use Airalo in South Africa?
No. The eSIM requires no ID to purchase, which is its main practical advantage over a local SIM. South African prepaid SIMs must be registered with a passport or ID document, so buying one means a counter, a form and a wait. An airport SIM runs about $18, roughly what a CellSA 10GB month costs at $22.