
Airalo in Mexico: Chido and Chido Plus, side by side
Airalo sells two Mexico tiers. Verified, 10GB for 30 days is $18.50 on Chido and $26 on Chido Plus — and Airalo does not state what the Plus tier adds.
Mexico eSIM plans compared
Airalo50 GB · 30d$45$0.90/GB✓ checkedBest value30 plansPlan Data Days Price Per GB Chido 1 GB 3 $4 $4 Chido Plus 1 GB 3 $5.50 $5.50 Chido 3 GB 3 $7.50 $2.50 Chido 3 GB 7 $8.50 $2.83 Chido Unlimited 3 $10.50 — Chido Plus 3 GB 3 $11 $3.67 Chido 5 GB 7 $12 $2.40 Chido Plus 3 GB 7 $12.50 $4.17 Chido 5 GB 15 $12.50 $2.50 Chido 5 GB 30 $13 $2.60 Chido Plus 5 GB 7 $17 $3.40 Chido 10 GB 7 $17 $1.70 Chido Unlimited 5 $17.50 — Chido Plus 5 GB 15 $17.50 $3.50 Chido 10 GB 15 $17.50 $1.75 Chido Plus 5 GB 30 $18.50 $3.70 Chido 10 GB 30 $18.50 $1.85 Chido Unlimited 7 $23.50 — Chido Plus 10 GB 7 $23.50 $2.35 Chido Plus 10 GB 15 $24.50 $2.45 Chido Plus 10 GB 30 $26 $2.60 Chido 20 GB 15 $29.50 $1.48 Chido 20 GB 30 $31 $1.55 Chido Unlimited 10 $31.50 — Chido Plus 20 GB 15 $40 $2 Chido Plus 20 GB 30 $42.50 $2.13 Chido Unlimited 15 $43 — Chido 50 GB 30 $45 $0.90 Chido Plus 50 GB 30 $54 $1.08 Chido Unlimited 30 $62 —
Nomad20 GB · 30d$27.50$1.38/GB✓ checked9 plansData Days Price Per GB 1 GB 7 $5 $5 3 GB 30 $7 $2.33 Unlimited 3 $10 — 5 GB 30 $11 $2.20 10 GB 30 $15.50 $1.55 Unlimited 5 $17 — Unlimited 7 $22 — 20 GB 30 $27.50 $1.38 Unlimited 10 $30 — Saily20 GB · 30d$37.99$1.90/GB✓ checked5 plans
Data Days Price Per GB 1 GB 7 $4.99 $4.99 3 GB 30 $9.99 $3.33 5 GB 30 $14.99 $3 10 GB 30 $23.99 $2.40 20 GB 30 $37.99 $1.90 HolaflyUnlimited · 3d$10.90unlimited✓ checked6 plans
Data Days Price Per GB Unlimited 3 $10.90 — Unlimited 5 $17.50 — Unlimited 7 $23.90 — Unlimited 10 $31.90 — Unlimited 15 $43.90 — Unlimited 30 $64.90 — eSIM Go10 GB · 30d$17$1.70/GBnot sold to travellers2 plans
Data Days Price Per GB 3 GB 30 $9 $3 10 GB 30 $17 $1.70 There is nowhere to send you. eSIM Go sells wholesale to resellers rather than to travellers: its site offers “Contact Sales” instead of a checkout, publishes no consumer price, and has no per-country pages — checked on 18 August 2026. The figures above have never been verified and cannot be, because the product is not on sale to the public.
Providers marked ✓ checked were read from their own site on ; those marked indicative come from our earlier research and are not yet verified. Rows marked not sold to travellers are for a wholesale platform that sells to resellers rather than to the public, so the prices shown cannot be bought at any checkout and are listed only to show what our older dataset contained. Providers change pricing without notice — check before buying. Host networks marked ? are taken from provider listings and have not been confirmed by us; where no network is shown, the provider does not publish one. How we check prices.
Two tiers, not a pricing glitch
Airalo is one of two providers in our Mexico data whose prices we have read off the seller's own site — Saily is now the other. It sells two Mexico products side by side, and every fixed-data allowance is listed under both. The cheaper line is called Chido; the dearer one is Chido Plus.
| Allowance | Validity | Chido | Chido Plus | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1GB | 3 days | $4 | $5.50 | $1.50 |
| 3GB | 7 days | $8.50 | $12.50 | $4 |
| 5GB | 30 days | $13 | $18.50 | $5.50 |
| 10GB | 30 days | $18.50 | $26 | $7.50 |
| 20GB | 30 days | $31 | $42.50 | $11.50 |
| 50GB | 30 days | $45 | $54 | $9 |
Every price in that table is verified against Airalo's own site as of 13 August 2026. What the Plus tier buys is not stated by Airalo. We hold the two names and the two prices and nothing else — no speed tier, no network, no roaming footprint — so we are not going to invent a reason for the gap. Unless Airalo's own product page tells you what you are paying extra for on the day you buy, Chido is the tier to take — and the 20GB rung is where getting it wrong costs the most, as the table above shows.
The unlimited plans are Chido only, with no Plus equivalent: $10.50 for 3 days, $17.50 for 5, $23.50 for 7, $31.50 for 10, $43 for 15 and $62 for 30.
The network claim we have withdrawn
An earlier version of this page said Airalo Mexico runs on Telcel and quoted a population-coverage figure for it. That never came from Airalo, and it is gone. Airalo does not publish a host network for any country, Mexico included, so we cannot tell you what your phone will attach to.
What is true independently of any provider: Telcel is the dominant Mexican operator and has the widest rural reach of the three national networks, with AT&T Mexico and Movistar behind it. If your itinerary depends on that — Copper Canyon, the interior of Oaxaca or Chiapas, the road between Playa del Carmen and Mérida — the only way to guarantee a particular network is to buy that carrier's own SIM. Holbox and Contoy are patchy on everything.
Hotspot tethering is supported, which is the one specification the old page got right and which separates Airalo from Holafly here.
Against the rest of the market
This section used to say Chido was the most expensive 10GB plan in Mexico. That was an artefact of Saily's price being invented rather than checked. With Saily read from source on 16 August 2026, at 10GB for 30 days Chido's verified $18.50 sits mid-table: Nomad's verified $15.50 is below it, while Saily's verified $23.99 is $5.49 above Chido for the same allowance over the same month. An eSIM Go row at $17 sits in our data as well, and is not a competing offer: eSIM Go sells wholesale to resellers and publishes no consumer price — checked on esim-go.com on 18 August 2026, where there is no basket, no checkout and no per-country page — so its rows cannot be bought or ever verified. See our eSIM Go page.
The pattern holds against Saily all the way up the ladder. At 5GB, Chido's $13.00 beats Saily's $14.99; at 20GB, Chido's $31.00 beats Saily's $37.99 by $6.99. It does not hold against Nomad. We used to write off the Nomad rows as indicative figures likely to move upward when somebody read them, as Saily's did. Somebody has now read them, on 17 August 2026, and they moved down: Nomad's verified Mexican prices are $11.00 at 5GB, $15.50 at 10GB and $27.50 at 20GB, below Chido at all three.
The top of the ladder is Airalo's alone. Chido sells 50GB for 30 days at $45, which is $0.90/GB, and no rival in our Mexico data sells 50GB at all. The best per-gigabyte rate anyone else reaches is Saily's $1.90 a gigabyte at 20GB, more than double.
Where Airalo also wins is unlimited data, which it sells only as Chido. Its verified $23.50 for a week undercuts Holafly's listed $27.90, and its $64.90 for 30 days edges Holafly's $62.90. Airalo allows tethering and Holafly does not, so that is not a close call.
At the very bottom, Chido's verified 1GB for 3 days at $4.00 is the cheapest single plan in our Mexico data. Saily's 1GB runs seven days but costs a verified $4.99 — $0.99 for four extra days, which is worth paying on a week-long trip and pointless on a long weekend. The Chido Plus version of that gigabyte is $5.50.
The $8 problem
Mexico is one of the few countries where the honest answer is often "don't buy an eSIM at all". A local prepaid SIM costs around $8 at the airport, and Mexico requires no ID to buy one — you hand over cash and walk away with it. There is no registration form, no passport scan, no queue built around paperwork.
That undercuts almost the entire Airalo range. Only three Airalo plans in our Mexico table come in under $8 — Chido 1GB at $4, Chido Plus 1GB at $5.50 and Chido 3GB at $7.50 — and every one of them expires in three days. If you have a spare SIM slot, arrive during shop hours and do not mind ten minutes at a counter, the local option is cheaper and puts you on a network you chose.
Airalo earns its premium when your phone is eSIM-only, when you land late and want data before you reach the taxi rank, or when you would rather not deal with a counter in a language you do not speak.
Verdict
Buy Chido rather than Chido Plus unless Airalo's checkout gives you a stated reason to pay the difference. On price, Chido beats Saily from 5GB upward and owns the cheapest gigabyte in the country at 50GB, which is the one rung nobody else sells. What it does not beat is Nomad, whose verified prices are $1.50 to $3.50 under Chido at every size the two share — so if you are buying 5GB, 10GB or 20GB and price is the whole question, Airalo is not the answer. Take the unlimited plans seriously if you stream. Compare every provider side by side on the Mexico hub.
Common questions
What is the difference between Airalo's Chido and Chido Plus in Mexico?
Nothing we can tell you. Airalo sells both lines in Mexico and lists the same allowances under each — 10GB for 30 days is $18.50 as Chido and $26 as Chido Plus, and 50GB is $45 against $54, all verified on 13 August 2026 — but Airalo does not state what the Plus tier adds. No speed tier, no network, no roaming footprint. Unless its own checkout explains the gap on the day you buy, take Chido.
Which Mexican network does Airalo use?
Airalo does not publish host networks in any country, and Mexico is no exception. If a particular network matters for your route, buy that carrier's own prepaid SIM instead — no ID is required in Mexico and it costs about $8.
Is Airalo better value than Nomad or Saily in Mexico?
Against Saily, yes, at every size from 5GB up: Chido's verified $13.00 for 5GB, $18.50 for 10GB and $31.00 for 20GB all beat Saily's verified $14.99, $23.99 and $37.99 over the same 30 days. Nomad is lower, at a verified $15.50 for 10GB against Chido's $18.50. Chido also sells the only 50GB plan in Mexico, at $45, or $0.90/GB.