Nomad global eSIM: 123 countries, five sizes and a speed cap
What Nomad's own page says about its global plan: the 123-country list, the five sizes, the 512 kbps throttle and when country plans are the better buy.
What is the Nomad global eSIM?
The Nomad global eSIM is one plan that works across many countries, so you do not buy a new eSIM at each border. Nomad says it covers 123 countries through partner networks such as Vodafone, Orange and AT&T. The list on its page includes Canada, the United States, the United Kingdom, China and Japan. This page is desk research from Nomad's global page, read on 8 October 2026. We have not used the plan, and we hold no verified global price, so we quote none.
Which Nomad global eSIM plans are there?
The page lists five sizes: 1 GB over 7 days, then 3, 5, 10 and 20 GB over 30 days. Nothing larger. If you want 50 GB, which Nomad sells for single countries, the global plan does not offer it.
The page showed prices in Canadian dollars to our fetch, while the header advertised a "from US$ 12" starting price. Those two did not line up, and we cannot tell you why. Check the checkout in your own currency.
How does the speed limit work?
Nomad's plan selector describes a daily high-speed allowance. When you use it up, data slows to 512 kbps until the 24-hour window resets. Nomad also says speeds and network availability vary by place and time. The page does not state the size of the daily allowance in the text we read, so look at the plan selector before buying.
How do you set up a Nomad global eSIM?
You can buy and install ahead of time. Installation needs an internet connection and a QR code. You must activate within 60 days of buying, and activation starts by itself when the eSIM first connects to a local network. At your destination:
- turn the eSIM line on;
- enable data roaming;
- select the Nomad eSIM for cellular data.
Some eSIMs need manual activation, so check the installation email. Add-ons start automatically when your current plan expires. Hotspot and tethering are supported. Some plans include a local phone number. Your phone must be eSIM-compatible, and your main SIM can stay in for calls.
Is the Nomad global eSIM worth it?
It depends on how many countries you cross, and the numbers on Nomad's own pages say a lot. In the same currency, the global 20 GB plan was roughly four times the price of the 20 GB China plan on Nomad's China page. Single-country plans are generally cheaper per gigabyte. On our verified US-dollar data from 17 August 2026, Japan's 20 GB month was $23 and Thailand's 50 GB over 10 days was $12.
So the global plan earns its place mainly on a trip through five or six countries, say, where one install and one balance of data matter more than the lowest price per gigabyte. For one country, buy that country's plan. For a region, check whether Nomad sells a regional plan; its home page names Europe.
There is also a separate family called Global-EX. These are long-term plans of up to a year, covering 54 or 82 destinations depending on the listing. They are not the 123-country plan on this page.
What does Nomad not say?
The global page does not say which partner network you will be on in a given country; Vodafone, Orange and AT&T are given as examples of partners. It does not say how many countries one plan can use in a single trip, only that it covers the list. And it warns that overseas territories may not be covered, advising you to contact support before you buy. Nomad support is open 24 hours by chat and email, per its home page.
See the Nomad review for the 436 verified single-country prices, the Nomad eSIM explainer for how the service works, and best eSIM for international travel for multi-country options. Everything we have priced is ranked on cheapest eSIM, and the Nomad China eSIM page covers China specifically.
Common questions
How many countries does the Nomad global eSIM cover?
Nomad's global page says 123 countries, through partner networks such as Vodafone, Orange and AT&T. The list on the page includes Canada, the United States, the United Kingdom, China and Japan. Nomad warns that overseas territories may not be covered, so contact support before you buy if that matters.
What sizes does the Nomad global eSIM come in?
Five: 1 GB over 7 days, then 3, 5, 10 and 20 GB over 30 days. There is no 50 GB option on the global page, although Nomad sells 50 GB plans for single countries. The page showed prices in Canadian dollars to our fetch, so check the checkout in your own currency.
Is the Nomad global eSIM unlimited?
No, the sizes are metered. Nomad describes a daily high-speed allowance and a drop to 512 kbps once you use it, until the 24-hour window resets. The page does not state the size of the daily allowance in the text we read, so look at the plan selector before buying.
Is a Nomad global eSIM cheaper than country plans?
Usually not. On Nomad's own pages, the global 20 GB plan cost roughly four times the 20 GB China plan in the same currency, and single-country plans are generally cheaper per gigabyte. The global plan earns its place on a trip through many countries, where one install matters more than price.
How long do I have to activate a Nomad global eSIM?
Nomad says 60 days from purchase. Activation starts automatically when the eSIM first connects to a local network. At your destination, turn the eSIM line on, enable data roaming and select the Nomad eSIM for cellular data. Some eSIMs need manual activation, so check your installation email.
Sources and further reading
- Nomad global eSIM pageNomadRead 8 October 2026
- Nomad China eSIM pageNomadRead 8 October 2026
- Nomad eSIM home pageNomad (getnomad.app redirects here)Read 8 October 2026